Threads: 115,586
Welcome to our newest member, BillWitt27
» Online Users: 1,050
3 members and 1,047 guests
Cookiez17, Pinkmagnolia921

Old 11-06-2002, 05:58 AM
GreekChat Member

How to Approach Others?

I've requested a Friendly Venture kit from Beta Sigma Phi HQ, but until it gets here, can people give me some ideas about approaching people who would be good members? There are some great women in my graduate program who would make fantastic sisters, but I'm afraid that they'll think that the idea of a sorority is "corny" or "old-fashioned", or might think that because I'm a graduate student that I should have left sorority life behind me. I also have a good local friend who would be quite an asset, but I'm afraid she'll turn her nose up at the idea of joining a sorority too.

Any tips are greatly appreciated!
Old 11-06-2002, 09:34 AM
GreekChat Member

I'm in the same boat.......

I am also afraid to ask my fellow graduate students for the same reasons. Also, everyone (except me ) seems so focused on their studies and their careers that I feel like I will be looked down upon for being so scattered--I like to think of it as "well rounded"

Many of my new members are women who would never have considered joining a sorority if it weren't for Beta. I think I captured their attention because I constantly refer to Beta as an International Womens Group. I explain that "sorority" simply means sisterhood, and that is what Beta is truly about! I keep emphasizing the friendship, support, and opportunities for community service that Beta Sigma Phi will provide. These aren't the first things that come to mind when some people think of sororities (especially on my campus). The women that I have talked to have been genuinely surprised and intrigued by the ways that Beta is different from other sororities.

Hope this helps!

Erica
(the only grad student in the chapter )
Order of the Rose recipient
Old 11-07-2002, 08:05 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to AngelPhiSig