Members: 326,155
Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, luvdovemrh
» Online Users: 1,218
4 members and 1,214 guests
Cookiez17, JayhawkAOII

Old 10-30-2006, 11:58 AM
GreekChat Member

Any other substitutes/teachers out there?

I'm a licensed teacher in Ohio and I'm on my second year of subbing. I'm looking for a full-time position but the job market here stinks .

I'm trying to do things to get my name out in the system. Currently, I have business cards that I pass out at schools. I eat lunch in the teacher's lounge. I'm friendly to other teachers and try to join in on conversations, but it's hard to fit in when I'm in a different school every day.

Are there any other teachers/subs that can give me advice about how to get my name out?

Last edited by Phimuteach; 11-01-2006 at 07:47 PM.
Old 11-01-2006, 01:01 AM
GreekChat Member

I'm in the same situation as you. I'm in my 3rd year subbing in NE Ohio and all I can say is keep doing what you are doing. If you are looking for something long term (like a maternity leave, etc), make sure you talk to the building principal so he/she knows that you are interested. Get yourself out to as many districts as possible. I tried to do that my first year but one district kept me so busy that I only went to 3 other districts and not that often. My second year, not at all (I was in long terms with this particular district all last year) and this year I'm kind of stuck where I was last year. Not that I don't mind it....I love the district but with levy problems....it's been very difficult to be hired.

Keep plugging away at what you are doing and it'll take you a long way....you just have to be patient. (Wow...me using that word considering everyone else has told me that too and I do my best to refuse!
Old 11-01-2006, 05:44 PM
GreekChat Member

Cool

I subbed when I was in grad school, before I became a fulltime teacher.