GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Chapter Operations
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Chapter Operations Share plans, ideas, and brainstorm problems related to chapter operations. Topics also include parliamentary procedure, national programs, innovations & etc.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,154
Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, lauren_ash0
» Online Users: 1,516
2 members and 1,514 guests
glittergal1985

Old 07-21-2009, 10:13 AM
GreekChat Member

Definition of "Chapter"

Hi there, I'm a total newbie to the Greek Life so please excuse my ignorance regarding my question:

What is a "chapter" of a Sorority and why do they have different names to the Sorority? Example, Sigma Sigma Sigma had a Delta Nu Chapter...

Also why do some Sororites have only 2 greek letters instead of three? Example, Chi Omega.

Thanks!
Old 07-21-2009, 10:47 AM
GreekChat Member

Using your example, the Delta Nu chapter of Sigma Sigma Sigma might be at State University, whereas the Delta Xi chapter of Sigma Sigma Sigma might be at State Tech. The national group (Sigma Sigma Sigma) is broken down into university-tied groups (chapters). This is the case for all national sororities. The chapter name designates the university with which the national sorority is affiliated.

(I was never a Rho Chi and boy am I glad! It's hard to define chapter!)

Some sororities have two letters because that's what their founders chose. Others have three letters because, you guessed it, that's what their founders chose.

Are you a PNM? A new member somewhere? (Just asking because of the Greek letters in your username.)
Old 07-21-2009, 11:20 AM
GreekChat Member

Each organization's founders selected their 2-3 Greek letter name. Some group's reasons for their name are confidential, some are publicly known. A "chapter" is the term used for each chartered group on each University campus of an Inter/national org.