GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Chapter Operations
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Chapter Operations Share plans, ideas, and brainstorm problems related to chapter operations. Topics also include parliamentary procedure, national programs, innovations & etc.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,159
Threads: 115,584
Welcome to our newest member, LynchMob66
» Online Users: 1,173
5 members and 1,168 guests
John, Xidelt

Old 09-02-2006, 11:22 PM
GreekChat Member

Re-founding a frat

Hey there guys. As u can see i am new here, plus i am new to all greek life.
I need some advice. Instead of joing an existing frat, i ended up joing a group of guys who are supposed to re-establish a chapter that was gone for several years now i think.

I have been reading upon some fraternity building material and one of the main points was to have a strong group of guys with good leadership skills etc etc.

Now this group of guys does not really have that... they are average kids if u can say so, good kids though. Now i need some tips on how to start this thing going. We dont have a house on campus but we do have one outside the school border which is not far away. I imagine throwing parties every day would not really work with a new frat that has only 13 members... What else would gain everyone's attention?

ps. we are planning on recruiting more people. Any suggestions would be really appreciated.
Old 09-03-2006, 12:15 PM
GreekChat Member

Best thing I can say is to take a look at the national websites for fraternities and begin the process by carefully looking at their principles to see if the group and fraternity are a good match. Once all of you have agreed on which fraternities to explore further, contact their director of expansion and express your interest.