GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,154
Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, lauren_ash0
» Online Users: 1,534
2 members and 1,532 guests
IndianaSigKap

Old 04-17-2011, 10:36 AM
GreekChat Member

Pledging as a 5th year senior....(serious replies only)

I'm a senior (4th year) who wanted to pledge AKA but my grades weren't right. I'll be a 5th year senior next year and I wanted to know how this sorority feels about letting girls in as 5th year senior, or if they even do it at all. I'm not dumb by a long shot....I was in the top 10 out of 300 people in high school when I graduated. It's just when I got to college I didn't apply myself as much as I should have. I've learned my lesson and am making the grades now. We all know that gpa's are hard to bring up after they've gone down so even with good grades right now I'm right at the C+ mark. So I'd also like to know how much does gpa play in? I take full responsibility for the grades I've made. I know there is no one to blame but me, but I'd still like to know.

I have wonderful character, I love helping people so I know a sorority all about service is the sorority for me. I also volunteer with one of the local girl scout troops in my hometown. I come from a long line of women who've become AKA's and they are great women who have gone to become doctors, social workers, managers at big companies, presidents of organizations, and many other things. They are great women and they have molded me into a great woman.

My dream to become an AKA is embedded so deeply in me. So please, can someone tell me what they think about my situation? Should I give up on this dream of becoming an AKA, or keep fighting for it?

Thanks in advance.