GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Fraternity Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Fraternity Recruitment Recruitment event ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,172
Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, 60αρης Ηράκλειο
» Online Users: 1,513
2 members and 1,511 guests
LaneSig

Old 09-21-2009, 04:02 AM
GreekChat Member

Should I rush again in the spring for a frat that i didn't get a bid for in the fall?

I am a freshman at a large public university. I was really interested in going greek but i didn't know where to begin because i didn't know anyone at any frats. So i started at formal rush. i checked out quite a few fraternities and I was set in joining Fraternity A. It truly felt like that was the only frat that was right for me in terms of the guys and what they believed in. The fact of the matter is that they already had given out 90% of there bids (pledge class of about 25) before rush week even started along with a few other frats. At the first rush event they probably had about 150 guys there (informal pizza) just to get to meet some of the rushes. They called back about twenty of those guys for a similar event and i was one of them. I talked to the rush chair today though and they said that they were done handing out bids but encouraged me to rush again in the spring. I can't tell if he's just telling me to be nice or actually wants me to rush again. Im not typically a very self conscious person but I do know i really want to join this fraternity. Unfortunately i don't want to waste my time again in the spring if they don't want me to join (spring rush class is like 10- 15 btw). I got to know a lot of the guys and i liked them a lot and i'm pretty sure they liked me too but i just don't know what to do. Out of all the fraternities i visited, that was the only one that i felt i truly belonged.