Welcome to our newest member, luvdovemrh
» Online Users: 1,429
2 members and 1,427 guests
No Members online

Old 07-09-2010, 12:53 AM
GreekChat Member

Letter of Rec - Congressperson?

Hi guys,

My personal information on this board isn't exactly hidden -- with just a couple of Google searches it would be extremely easy to figure out who I am, where I go to school, what my major is, etc. etc. I am going to request that personal things (like who I'm working for) please not be revealed here.

Anyhow, I go to a third tier state school in North Carolina, and once I get out I hope to either go to UNC Chapel Hill or to Wake Forest for law school. I just finished up my first year of college, but I'm planning to go ahead and graduate in either Fall 2011 or Spring 2012 (probably the latter). I want to go ahead and make sure I'm working hard enough to have a solid packet by then, and one of the things I'm doing this summer is internships. Right now I am doing an full time internship in constituent services with the Congressperson in or near Wake Forest's district. I'm pretty well-liked in the office, and have made a couple of small advancements that have helped increase productivity for the office overall, and so I'm pretty sure they're going to write me a letter of recommendation.

Should I ask for a letter from the Congressperson themselves, or should I ask for one from my direct supervisor? I'd only like responses from people with experience getting into/ working in the admissions offices/ whatever at competitive national universities.

Here are what I think the pros and cons are:
Pros: 1. they're a member of Congress
2. they might possibly have influence with the people at the school
3. this letter will be highly personalized

Cons: 1. might be seen as a thinly-veiled attempt to get in through influence
2. members of Congress are especially known for doing whatever their constituents ask them to do