Threads: 115,582
Welcome to our newest member, craig171
» Online Users: 1,261
2 members and 1,259 guests
No Members online

Old 08-04-2005, 04:59 PM
GreekChat Member

Telling people you're an AI

Last edited by Jen; 08-13-2015 at 09:07 PM.
Old 08-04-2005, 05:13 PM
GreekChat Member

I didn't take a single class where I was initiated. Therefore, when people say, "What chapter are you from?", I take care to 'finesse' my words and I usually say, "I went to the University of ______ " or "I got my undergrad degree at _____ " and let people jump to their own conclusions that I initiated there too. (because that's where I got my degree).

Sure....it's not entirely forthcoming and a tad misleading, but I feel like that is the chapter that I have the most ties to, etc.
I just find it emotionally exhausting to have to go into a 20 minute explanation as to how I actually became a member, so I choose to take the path of least resistance.

For women who pledged their sorority, and then only AI'd into that same sorority but at a different campus maybe 10-20 years later, they might say something like "I pledged ABC at University of <insert alma mater here>", because technically that is TRUE...they did PLEDGE there, they just weren't initiated there.
Old 08-04-2005, 05:42 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to Jill1228
I just say "I was initiated at the UBC". It's the truth.

Aries, your initiation class is a good one!
Old 08-04-2005, 06:05 PM
GreekChat Member

Good question! Like CP2000, I was initiated at a chapter which was at a university I never attended. I often run into difficulty because a lot of people know that I went to Long Beach State University and yet I'm not from that chapter. I am very proud of having graduated from Long Beach and I don't want to have people thinking I graduated from the University of San Diego. At the same time, I don't want people to be confused into thinking that I'm from the Long Beach chapter.