Welcome to our newest member, ibtisamkhan
» Online Users: 1,276
1 members and 1,275 guests
No Members online

Old 04-20-2010, 05:44 PM
GreekChat Member

Hope for me?

No disrespect intended.

Last edited by beatlesfan87; 04-20-2010 at 07:47 PM.
Old 04-20-2010, 05:53 PM
GreekChat Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatlesfan87 View Post
I have been regretting the fact that I was not in a sorority for several years now. I am hoping to learn more about alumnae initiates.

When I was a freshman in college I went to a big states school that I decided on last moment, kind of dragged my feet to rush, and ended up dropping out of rush. Everything seemed to go wrong my freshman year (ended up on upperclassman floor, no roommate no less), I was homesick, and I transferred to a school at home so I could commute. Because I was a commuter living at home, I did not consider joining one of my commuter school's sororities. But I began volunteering and getting involved in all kinds of activities and started noticing that a lot of the women I found myself around were sorority women. I have SO regretted that I wasn't a part of a sisterhood and a dedication to scholarship and philanthropy. I encouraged my younger sister to join a sorority, and the difference I see in her is amazing (she joined Chi Omega, by the way). I cannot tell you how upset it makes me to think I would never be part of a sorority until a friend told me about alumna initiation. I looked into it, and much to my surprise, the two sororities that I had felt such a bond with on my very first day of rush when I was a freshman in college, engage in alumna initiation.

I know so much more about myself now than I did when I was an undergraduate. I have a better sense of priorities, and a greater level of dedication to the activities I engage in.

Anyway, I was hoping you could give me some more information about AI. I have a close friend from one of the sororities, and a family member from the other.