GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > GLO Specific Forums > Alpha > Alpha Kappa Alpha
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

» GC Stats
Members: 326,187
Threads: 115,581
Welcome to our newest member, 60αρης Ηράκλειο

Old 07-25-2007, 08:02 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to LikeASista
Needing some encouragement ...

Hi, Sorors and Sisterfriends! I've been really busy this week going through the New Teacher Induction workshop thingy for the public school system here in my city. I'm a brand new teacher (Choral Director, actually), and while I'm excited about being in the classroom, I'm really nervous about the coming year.

Anybody have any useful advice for me? I could use some well wishes and some inspiring words.
#1 - Spring 2000

"If you judge people, you have no time to love them." - Mother Teresa
Old 07-25-2007, 08:07 PM
GreekChat Member

I love music and I'm guessing you do too. I love to listen to gospel. Listen to Encourage Yourself by Donald Lawrence

You will be a great choral director and God put you in that position because he knew you would do well.
Old 07-25-2007, 11:29 PM
GreekChat Member

Remember that the FIRST day of school sets the tone for the rest of the year. I'm guessing the class will be an elective and if so, some kids don't take it seriously. But if you do, they will.

And, have fun! The pressures of the job can sometimes be overwhelming but sometimes, there's that one student or that one colleague that can really help lighten things up.

I Stay Woke!!
Old 07-25-2007, 11:36 PM
GreekChat Member

The First Day of School by Harry Wong!

It's your class. As the semester progresses, relinquish the reigns some.

You'll do well. You're blessed. We don't have too many choir directors anymore. Ever considered a position at a university?

Welcome to the world of the underpaid and those taken for granted!
Old 07-26-2007, 12:53 AM
GreekChat Member