Threads: 115,588
Welcome to our newest member, Toeshoes
» Online Users: 1,446
2 members and 1,444 guests
FSUZeta, Phrozen Sands

Old 06-10-2002, 02:52 PM
Ginger

Charity Ball

This isn't for my sorority, but actually for the Jaycees (a community service organization I belong to)

So, I volunteered to plan a charity ball for our local Humane Society. The problem is, I'm way the heck over my head. Has anyone ever planned a ball like this before? I haven't a clue as to where to start. So far I've figured out I need to make arrangements for:
  • When
  • Find a hall
  • Music/Band
  • Drinks
  • Food
  • Servers
  • Advertising
  • Decorations
  • ???

How do I go about talking people into donating a hall/food/drinks/etc though? Or am I even going to find someone to donate? I want to use as much of the money as possible for the charity of course, so I really want to get as much by donation as possible, but aaargh!!! I've never done this before! Help!
Old 06-10-2002, 04:00 PM
GreekChat Member

hey that's a really good idea and although i have never planned anything like that or know of anyone on campus that has I will have to keep that in mind.

But have you thought about charging for tickets? Might help with some expenses or even local businesses might be willing to donate money or services to get their name out to college students...just a thought

Let us know how it goes
Old 06-10-2002, 04:17 PM
Ginger

Yeah, ideally we'd like to charge between $25 - 50 per ticket, but we'd like most of that money to go to the charity.

As far as getting local businesses to donate...that's the thing, there's not really any particular group that we're targeting, other than animal lovers.... this isn't a college event or anything like that, so I'm not sure how to get businesses to contribute.
Old 06-10-2002, 04:21 PM
GreekChat Member