Members: 326,169
Threads: 115,578
Welcome to our newest member, 60αρης Ηράκλειο
» Online Users: 1,094
0 members and 1,094 guests
No Members online

Old 05-28-2008, 02:44 AM
GreekChat Member

Question Do you work in your degree related field??

Hey everyone, I was recently offered a good job that has absolutely nothing to do with my B.A. When I was in school, I always thought it was dumb to not be working in a related field after going to school all those years, and now I might be one of those people!
Just wondering, how many people are actually using their degree??

Last edited by DZviol; 05-28-2008 at 02:47 AM.
Old 05-28-2008, 03:06 AM
GreekChat Member

Well, I can't exactly answer your question on a personal level because I'm still in school. However, when I was a freshman, I went to a workshop/talk about majors. I guess a lot of people end up in fields that don't have to do with their major. With some fields (especially science/medical), it's really important to have that major. On the other hand, with others, it may not matter as much. I know having a bachelors counts for a lot.

So, I hope that helps and I'm sorry for not providing a true insider's prospective.
Old 05-28-2008, 06:46 AM
GreekChat Member

I used my degrees (BS, MS) for 11 years before staying home to have kids 1.5 years ago. I do think I will return to the work field one day, and it will be in the same career.

FWIW, my degrees don't really transfer well to other areas. I do have some friends with the same degrees that are now working in pharm sales, and one friend who works in info technology in the medical arena. We always have the management option, but that is not for me.

I do have friends who are not working in their majors at all, and have been very happy and successful.