Members: 326,187
Threads: 115,581
Welcome to our newest member, 60αρης Ηράκλειο
» Online Users: 899
0 members and 899 guests
No Members online

Old 11-18-2005, 12:27 PM
GreekChat Member

Acting up in school? You might get put out on the street!

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/10075910/

I don't know what everyone else thinks, but I thought I'd post it here to see some thoughts...

Bad idea? Good idea? Something you would do?

enigma_AKA
Old 11-18-2005, 12:43 PM
GreekChat Member

Well, like the mom said in the article, I am not an expert and I think it is worth it to think about the psychological impact such action may have on the daughter, but to be honest, I think there are MANY other psychologically damaging things that are or had been going on in the child's life that were causing her attention span to shorten and her grades to slip. I think parents are running out of old fashioned options that they have at their disposal that can counteract the newer-aged and more recent developments of social and cultural influences that kids face today. I know my mom, for example, has totally gotten to a point where she has no clue what to do with my teenaged sister. The tactics she used for my older sister and me simply don't work with my younger sister.

So, the short answer is: I dunno. I am glad that this parent is trying something, ANYTHING to get through to her daughter and, who knows, maybe when she gets older, she will remember how much her parents loved her and wanted her to do well rather than look back on it and be ashamed or whatever the negative consequences the pros are saying she will suffer as a result of this technique.
Old 11-18-2005, 01:14 PM
GreekChat Member

IMO, it's TOUGH LOVE at its best. I now am in charge of Special Education students who act up or out. They hate being with me because:
1. it's known they are in special ed;
2. they lose ALL priviledges;
3. it's humiliating to them;