Welcome to our newest member, Duece464
» Online Users: 924
2 members and 922 guests
Cookiez17

Old 09-14-2004, 12:06 AM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to hotpie
Does psychology have a payoff?

i know that it is a rewarding career if thats what you really want to do, but is it a worthy goal for someone to strive for if they are also looking for that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, so to speak?
Old 09-14-2004, 08:02 AM
GreekChat Member

If you are looking to make a lot of $$$$ Psychology (and any related fields) is not the way to go. You will do better $$$$-wise with an advanced degree but that takes a lot of time. One of my friends is a psychology major and is getting her PHD. She is going to be in debt for awhile paying off school loans. I am a Social Worker. I will eventually be able to make more $$$$ if I become a Director or open up my own private practice but again, that takes time. It just doesn't happen overnight. And in terms of a private practice, you have to think about finding clients that can afford to pay the fees. I am sure psychiatrists probably do a bit better but again, I always factor in the amount of debt I am paying off into what I am actually bringing home...............Also, I don't recommend going into a field like this if you don't truly have the passion to help people. I interact with psychiatrists and psychologists on an almost daily basis and very rarely do I come across one who has the actual people skills to do what they do. I understand the burearcracies involved, especially in working in a hospital setting, or a not-for-profit clinic where you may be the only doctor dealing with hundreds of patients, but all too often I run across psychiatrists who are all about meeting with a client for 15 minutes or less solely to give out a prescription for some medication, and then not taking the time to even sit with the client to discuss their concerns, side effects of the meds, etc. This may be more then you were asking but your