Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, lauren_ash0
» Online Users: 1,194
2 members and 1,192 guests
Xidelt

Old 10-11-2005, 09:01 PM
GreekChat Member

Italy's Racists make life hell for certain players

Europeans are lightyears ahead of us in terms of disgraceful fan activity.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slu...=afp&type=lgns

Italy's racists make life hell for Ivory Coast's Zoro
October 12, 2005

ROME (AFP) - Despite promises by the Italian football authorities to clamp down on racism, Serie A defender Marc Zoro says he constantly suffers "deplorable" insults because of the colour of his skin.

"I have been playing in Italy for three years and I see this happening almost daily, particularly when I'm in the north or the centre of the country, playing against clubs like Lazio, Roma, Verona and Treviso," the 21-year-old, who plays for Sicilian side Messina, told AFP.

"It happens less in the south of Italy, but I have problems all the time. All this makes me really sad. It's not easy for me and it hurts. I don't deserve this."

On the first day of this season, Messina played Lazio at Rome's Olympic stadium; Zoro, an Ivory Coast international, was subjected to monkey chants throughout the match.

His anger almost boiled over at the final whistle and he had to be restrained by his team-mates. Afterwards Lazio president Claudio Lotito went into the Messina dressing room to apologise on behalf of his club.

There was a similar outpouring of vitriol several weeks later when Messina visited Siena in Tuscany, where Zoro was roundly booed and jeered every time he touched the ball.

Asked whether initiatives like the European Week Against Racism in Sport - which runs from October 13 to 25 - could help eradicate the bigotry, Zoro said he thinks the issue runs too deep.

"It's a good thing, but the root of the problem is mentality; it's down to ignorance and a lack of sophistication.