GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Recruitment General discussion about recruitment.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,155
Threads: 115,580
Welcome to our newest member, luvdovemrh
» Online Users: 1,636
3 members and 1,633 guests
Phrozen Sands, UW_dawg

Old 08-18-2002, 12:59 PM
GreekChat Member

Question Married student wants to Rush this fall....

Hey, I want to rush this fall and I'm a 19 year old married sophmore. Do you think this will lower my chances of receiving a bid? I am a transfer student and don't really know to many people. The sorority I want to rush has a house and may require pledges to live their, which obviously I can not. What do you think? I am on pins and needles as tonight is rush orientation.

Thanks!!!
Old 08-18-2002, 01:48 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via ICQ to James Send a message via AIM to James
I am sure the girls on the site can give a better answer than I can.

But there will be different categories of responses from the girls:

1. You should definitely do it. And some people will mention how they have known older or married people Rushing/pledging/joining.

2. You need to understand that Rush can be very competitive at southern Schools so being married can count against you.

3. Sororities can be pretty time demanding, and you have outside committments that might prevent you from giving the sorority the time it demands.

I am sure there will be questions also:

1. Why do you want to join?

2. What school do you go to?

ETC.

Personally: I say go for it! And don't let anyone talk you out of it

Also, I see no reason you need to mention that you are married during Rush . . . ITs not like its going to come up during conversation lol
Old 08-18-2002, 02:11 PM
GreekChat Member