GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > General Chat Topics > Chit Chat
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Chit Chat The Chit Chat forum is for discussions that do not fit into the forum topics listed below.

» GC Stats
Members: 326,154
Threads: 115,579
Welcome to our newest member, lauren_ash0
» Online Users: 1,472
2 members and 1,470 guests
LaneSig, lauren_ash0

Old 09-29-2003, 02:07 PM
GreekChat Member

Horse Riding

Apparently at riding stables, when a group comes in, they give everyone in the group one of those five minute or so on-horse walkarounds to see who is experienced/novice/intermediate level so they know which horses to then place people on for a full session. I wondered, how many private lessons from absolute beginner level would someone probably need before they could look (while on that five minute thing) vaguely competent and not look as if they had never been on a horse before? Thanks.
Old 09-29-2003, 03:28 PM
Banned

Send a message via AIM to Imthachamp
gone in 60 seconds
Old 09-29-2003, 03:40 PM
GreekChat Member

I have never been to a public stable, but I have been riding all my life. I would say that there are too many factors in riding to narrow competency down to a specific number of lessons. However, it really shouldn't take too many times on a horse to start to feel comfortable. I guess balance is an important part of your question. Wear shoes with heels and keep the balls of your feet in the stirrup. Keep your heels down and toes up. This will help your balance. Also, use the saddle horn to help you balance until you get used to the ride. After a few times out, you'll learn the feel of the horse and how to use your legs. I took one of my friends who had never been on a horse riding last summer and by the end of the weekend, she looked like a natural. I think you’ll be looking “vaguely competent” in no time.
Old 09-29-2003, 04:43 PM
GreekChat Member