GreekChat.com Forums
Celebrating 25 Years of GreekChat!

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > GLO Specific Forums > Alpha > Alpha Kappa Alpha
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

» GC Stats
Members: 326,164
Threads: 115,586
Welcome to our newest member, ibtisamkhan
» Online Users: 905
0 members and 905 guests
No Members online

Old 03-01-2001, 12:55 AM
GreekChat Member

Question Non-Profit vs. Corporate America

Ok, I think this is an interesting topic!

How many of you have worked in the non-profit sector as well as corporate America? I have done both. After I graduated, I decided to do City Year, which is an AmeriCorps program. I absolutely LOVED the community service that we did. But I felt like our site (Columbus, Oh) started to sell out for funding, so I jetted. I am not one for selling out. Anywho, I decided to try the corporate arena.

Now, after seeing these layoffs, and how they affect people, and how the bottom line is ALWAYS money, I'm wondering if I need to go back to non-profit. But I'm just so tired of being poor. I wanted to make a little money so I could see what it was like, dang! But at the same time, I don't like working for places where money is the bottom line. We are people. Human beings. We are not machines. And that is how you are treated, it seems to me. All they want to know is, can you produce? There are politics within a non-profit, but it's not all about money. And if it is, it's about funding, not about making an all mighty dollar.

I don't know. What do yall think? What are your views on non-profits vs the corporate world? Advantages, disadvantages?
Old 03-01-2001, 09:11 AM
GreekChat Member

Smile