GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Greek Life (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Starting A Sorority (HELP!!) (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=78509)

Absolut_Andrea 06-04-2006 11:38 PM

Starting A Sorority (HELP!!)

Hey, Im new to this so I'm browsing a bit to find my answer but just in case I don't I decided to ask.....

I am in a social group that promotes plus size beauty and self esteem, a few of us wanted to branch off and start a sorority because the group just deal with modeling and fashion, some of us actually want to make a difference in our community. Now I could have pledge at my school but my school doesn't have one because it's a school for working adults and I'm a single mom.

We tried to join a chapter that had the same ideas as us but they are located so far from us and expected us to travel for initiations and etc, all our contacts would be through phone and email, so we decided to start one ourselves, some of us are in school like myself and then some aren't some are working professionals.

So what would be the first step for us?

Thanks..

SigKapCoug 06-05-2006 12:20 AM

Have you considered starting a chapter of the sorority that you liked?

AlphaFrog 06-05-2006 07:21 AM

I'm not a single mom, I have my husband to help and I would not have time to worry about starting a sorority. There are priorities, and when your a single mom, I would say starting a sorority ranks about 500th on the list. If there really are several people in your postion...how about a CLUB??

adpiucf 06-05-2006 09:15 AM

Check out the locals board. But agreeing with the above poster, starting a sorority is a lot of effort...

mccoyred 06-05-2006 10:21 AM

Wasn't there a plus size sorority started recently? I know that there is a thread around here somewhere about that...

Absolut_Andrea 06-05-2006 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by AlphaFrog